Christian Social Services Commission

The Christian Social Services Commission (CSSC) is an ecumenical body jointly established by the Tanzania Episcopal Conference (TEC) and the Christian Council of Tanzania (CCT) in 1992 to facilitate social services, with the main focus on education and health services provided by member Churches. It is the largest ecumenical organization in Tanzania, working under more than 87 dioceses and provinces which own and manage about 42% of hospital health services, 56% of health facilities in rural areas, and more than 10% of education services in Tanzania.


The CSSC head office is located in Dar es Salaam and operates in the whole country through its five zonal offices namely Northern located in Arusha, Eastern in Morogoro, Southern in Mbeya, Western in Tabora and Lake Zone in Mwanza. CSSC is made up of more than 119 Dioceses and Provinces of the member churches in Tanzania. The main aim is to improve the quality, accessibility and availability of health and education services to all regardless of color, race and faith and focuses mainly on remote areas

Organisation Structure

The organizational and management set up of CSSC consists of the Board of Trustees (BoTs) which is responsible for the efficient management of the assets and funds of the Commission. Board of Trustees comprises of eight members who are all citizens of Tanzania and have displayed high level of integrity and good standing. The BoTs has three principal organs namely the Annual General Meeting, the Executive Council and the Secretariat which support execution of the CSSC mandate and functions. Management and operations of the secretariat is being overseen by the Executive council, equivalent to Board of Directors which comprises of seven members who are all Tanzanians. Read More...